Jean-Charles de Castelbajac RTW 2014

Jean-Charles de Castelbajac (JCDC) is a fashion designer from Morocco. With a background like his, one would have never thought he’d grow to become a designer with such colorful and witty collections. He spent his childhood at military boarding school so you can just imagine how colorless his world was which he showed in his first collection. Now you know him for things like Madonna’s teddy bear coat, costumes from Eddie Murphy’s “Coming to America” styling M.I.A and Santigold, oh and the mess that was Lady Gaga’s Kermit the frog coat. I honestly think that was a coat that only Miss Piggy herself would have, should have loved.

My favorites…

JCDC Spring 2002 Collection

JCDC
Spring 2002 Collection

Reminds me of a few villains I watched on the cartoon “Josie and the Pussycats” hehehe

If only Cruella De Vil loved leopards and their print as much as me!

He is a favorite of mine because he allows his imagination to push the boundaries of what ready-to-wear should consist of. He plays on pop culture, uses mixed media, and bright colors. He takes fashion to another level. If a psychiatrist were to ask him what he saw in an ink blot they’d better be ready for his answer. He makes me want to find the fun in everything and be bold in creating. Sometimes I’m reminded how much I disliked or loved a certain thing from different genres through his work. He’s something like the little kid in art class that uses whatever they find and their creative mind to create that huge knight and castle that you can’t really see because your interpretation of what’s in front of you is different from theirs. Isn’t that what art is all about?

His Spring 2014 collection hit the runways recently. Take a look…

Did you see the gold lips glasses? Is it bad that I want to DIY a pair? I kinda dig those! Happy Cyber Monday folks and I hope you enjoyed the Thanksgiving holiday with those you love.

Leave a Reply

