What I Wore When: Baltimore Book Festival

Hey chicsters! I hope you all made the most of your weekend and what’s left of the daylight before times change. I spent some time at the Baltimore Book Festival at Mt. Vernon Place. I purposely went to support two titles, one being “Buck” written by MK Asante and the other, “The Wealth of My Mother’s Wisdom” by Terrence J. I definitely enjoyed listening to Terrence’s short presentation which was followed up with questions from the audience and a book signing. He was on an extremely tight schedule but that didn’t prevent him from dishing out some really helpful advice and encouraging words to students, grads, and every day people out here pushing to turn dreams into reality. I haven’t dipped as far into the book as I would like before doing recommendations but I’m certain I’ll take away what is meant for me. I  missed MK Asante’s presentation but I’ve heard nothing but wonderful things about him since a few people I know have had him for a professor at Morgan State University. So far his memoir has been really good and well written read and I think he’s a writer to watch! From what I’ve already read, I’d recommend it for men both old and young as there are things I think both could take away. If you’re a mentor to a young man or know someone who is then please suggest this to them as reading material for their mentee.

IMG_0239

I had hoped both authors would be there around the same time, same day but I was wrong.

I had hoped both authors would be there around the same time, same day but I was wrong.

IMG_0110

He was there on Sunday! What I wore on Sunday will be on another post!

My photographer for the day managed to snap quicky once I reached the front of the line.

My photographer for the day managed to snap quicky once I reached the front of the line.

Now, what would have been Saturday’s Small Business post has been added to this one because I don’t want to drag the pictures out. The “You Go Boy” shirt was done by Jason Gray of Republic and Company. I contacted him after I caught a glimpse of the shirt on IG. Heaven knows I have every season of “Martin” on dvd and I still watch the syndicated shows as if I have no other way of viewing them. I laugh at all the corny jokes and say the lines right along with the characters so it only made sense that I have the shirt. Republic and Co. gives you an opportunity to put your favorite “Martin” line on a shirt or sweatshirt and pick the colors but because I’m all about supporting guys out there living right and working hard I stuck with the original tee. When I thought about creating my own, I was going to use, “You ain’t got no job man!” but hey, you see what’s happening out here in the word and I didn’t want to be a downer even if people knew where the reference came from. There are other items on the company site too so if you are interested in seeing what they have to offer, click here.

IMG_0275

IMG_0264

I don’t know what I was doing here. I have no good sense sometimes lol

Remember that fire hydrant scene in Spike Lee's "Do the Right Thing?" No? Oh. Well that's what this photo makes me think of now.

Remember that fire hydrant scene in Spike Lee’s “Do the Right Thing?” No? Oh. Well that’s what this photo makes me think of now.

Have a productive week folks!

One thought on “What I Wore When: Baltimore Book Festival

Leave a Reply

