Stop Shop: Ruth’s House

photo 4

Today’s stop shop is in memory of  all of the women who have lost their lives to domestic violence and dedicated to the ones still fighting to get out or have gotten out and are working to put the pieces of their lives back together. Since 1977 the House of Ruth Maryland has provided assistance for victims of domestic violence within the state. The organization’s shelter, 24-hour hotline, counseling, outreach, training, and legal services have helped more than 100,000 victims. In January of 2011, The House of Ruth opened Ruth’s Closet to further its mission. Ruth’s Closest is a sophisticated resale boutique featuring new and gently used clothing and accessories for women. All of the proceeds go to support programs and services for the victims of domestic violence. I stopped by if not last month then the month before last and after hearing that people still weren’t quite in “the know” about the boutique, I decided I would blog to try and spread the word.

The store is located at 9131 Reisterstown Road, Owings Mills, MD. You can find it right in the back of the Valley Village Shopping Center. If you’re a women that works in the corporate world or you are looking for quality brands at prices you can afford then please check them out. The clothing in the store comes from the donations they receive and the store is staffed by the sweetest volunteers. Below you’ll find what I purchased the day I stopped in…

J. Crew  I love yellow and I can't get enough of this sweater!

J. Crew
I love yellow and I can’t get enough of this sweater!

J. Crew

J. Crew

I don't remember the name but the original price was over $700. I got this sweater for $10.

I don’t remember the name but the original price was over $700. I got this sweater for $10.

All of those items and an additional sweater for under $50 if I remember correctly. What a deal! There was this cute blazer in there that I wanted badly but I’d be swimming in a size 6 so I had to leave it. I sure hope someone picked it up and is wearing it happily.

photo 5

Talbots

photo 1

Ruth’s Closet is open Wednesday and Friday  from 11-5:30, Thursday 11-6:30, Saturday 10-5, and Sunday 12-4. Once you go for a visit please come back and tell me what you thought of the store! For information about volunteering for The House of Ruth Maryland visit http://www.hruth.org and additional information about Ruth’s Closet can be found at http://www.hruth.org/ruthsclosest.asp

Enjoy your Sunday!