DIY: Baroque Snapback

I recently bought a fabric that I decided to put on a hat but then after I saw this top at the thrift store I changed my mind.

photo 4

I recently bought a fabric that I decided to put on a hat but then after I saw this top at the thrift store I changed my mind. I had already begun working on it by the time I figured I would take a picture so you could see it. It was a women’s sheer top with gold embroidery. There is a brocade trend this fall & this was the perfect way to get that in my wardrobe in a unique way. Broacdes were seen on everybody who was somebody back in the renaissance days. I’m not big on grabbing attention but I do love the regal and sophisticated look although I don’t care to a dress with it all over, small doses you know.

photo 3

As much as I’d like to give you instructions on making your own it was fairly simple (to me at least) but time consuming. To sum it up, I used masking tape to make a pattern of the panels and brim. I then cut the fabric using my pattern tape and began to sew it on the actual hat. I used a regular needle and long-nosed pliers to help pull the needle when things got difficult. You can choose to sew using the stitch the hat already has as a guide or do your own thing. I bent the hat up to give it a 90’s feel… I love the 90s lol. It still needs a little touching up if you ask me but other than that it’s finished.

What do you think?

photo 1

Leave a Reply

