Beauty Buys: Trader Joe’s Tingle Tree Shampoo and Conditioner

Are you a hair product junkie looking to end your addiction? On a budget? Do you have really curly or thick hair?  This is the combination to try! I bought these two items not to long ago and I love them. I don’t know where they’ve been my whole life but I’m so thankful to have them.

I read about Trader Joe’s Tingle Tree Shampoo & Condition on Curly Nikki’s blog a long time ago and just knew they’d be the answer to my problem. My problem? Detangling was taking entirely to long and shampoos or cleansers I tried didn’t make my hair feel clean. I still felt like my strands had build up on them making it hard for other products to grab hold. As an ex-product junkie I was making an effort to use the remainder of products I already had in stock before purchasing anything new. The minute I felt my hair after the shampoo and conditioner I knew they were worth my wait.

The shampoo makes my hair feel squeaky clean but not at all stripped of moisture. It’s sulfate free but for those who like suds, it does lather up. A few of the ingredients are: Aqua w/ tea tree oil, peppermint oil, rosemary oil, nettle oil, thyme oil, birch leaf oil, chamomile, lavender, coltsfoot leaf, yarrow oil, soy bean protein grapefruit seed. For $3.99 it’s definitely a steal and you’re hair will thank you, especially if you’re natural.

The conditioner helps me detangle my hair in what has to be 15 minutes or less. I have thin natural hair but it was still taking longer than it should have to detangle it before I had this conditioner. This product has soooo much slip that even my fingers can glide through after the comb. Finger combing before was out of the question. My hands would get tangled up in my curls and created more problems than I was looking to solve.  It has most of the same ingredients as the shampoo, losing the rosemary but picking a plant derived alcohol. You can use it to detangle, co-wash, deep treat, and even style. It’s a 4 in 1 for $3.99!  I sure do wish they had a leave-in for me to use.

I can even use my tangle teezer with no problem now! I bought one but had since given up on using them because it was as much of a hassle as my fingers. Got caught up in the curls like an insect in a spider’s web. Slide my wide tooth comb through my hair, then my fingers, and if I need to smooth my curls out before styles or just to better define them for a wash-n-go, grab my tangle teezer and it glides right over. You honestly don’t know what a relief this is to me. I’ve been natural since ’06 for goodness sake. If you leave out my year and a couple months transition using protective styles like micros and weaves then I’ve only been struggling with detangling my curls for about 4 years and some change. I tell ya, if nothing else, detangling will make you want to cut your hair off and go about your day. Shoooo I hardly wanted to style my hair after that process and it’s thin. I can’t imagine detangling thick curly hair. God bless you ladies that do!

You can find a tangle teezer at Sally’s Beauty Supply for around $8 I think.

Find it at Target for around $7.99

I use Giovanni’s Direct leave-in right now and it’s nice but I’m still searching for the leave-in that I won’t be able to live with out. Have you tried Trader Joe’s Tingle Tree Shampoo or Conditioner? What did you think? Any suggestions for a leave-in? I think I’m going to leave Trader Joe’s Conditioner for a leave-in the next time I style and see what happens.

Have a productive day!

One thought on “Beauty Buys: Trader Joe’s Tingle Tree Shampoo and Conditioner

Leave a Reply

