Shop Stop: Buffalo Exchange

Greetings!!! I hope you all had a marvelous weekend despite the rain that appeared. The sun managed to peek it’s head out for my friend’s birthday yesterday which was great because according to her, it always rains on her special day. After a Sunday brunch with her at B. Smith’s restaurant in Union Station, I found myself at  Buffalo Exchange. This consignment shop is far from new as there are 28 company stores and two franchise stores. The D.C. location recently opened on Saturday, June 16 and is located off Logan Circle at 1318 14th Street NW, Washington, DC 20005. The shop is easy to miss if you’re driving but it’s  between N Street and Rhode Island Avenue and convenient to the Mc Pherson stop on the metro. If you’re thinking of stopping in, store hours are Monday-Saturday 11–7 and Sunday 12–6.

I did a nice sweep through of the store in about an hour and ended up purchasing 4 things which is outside of my normal 2-3 items per store. Yes that’s a big deal because I try to be sure I really love what I’m purchasing and a three item cap keeps me from going overboard, call it buyers remorse I guess. The store is pretty small but there are a lot of good steals hiding within the compact racks. I found a Michael Kors floral print, sleeveless top for $18.80! I saw a cute leopard print fur, nice bags & several items by Diane von Furstenberg (DVF) and other designers, all for affordable prices.

My favorite purchase?

Taupe wide leg chiffon pants with an elastic band and dark brown leaf print by Kimchi Blue. Love them!! The associate that rang them up loved them as well and congratulated me on the purchase. The gold top I wore tucked in to the pants was by Express and I didn’t purchase it. The top/tunic shown in the top left was another favorite of mine although I need to figure out a better way to tie it where it doesn’t rise up high in the back… of course the picture doesn’t show that. It’s a combination of purples and gives me a bohemian feel.

The striped woven duffle bag above is one that I grabbed immediately upon entering the store. I was told that a lady dropped it off and supposedly she purchased it from Indonesia. It’s study and looks a bit more used than the picture but I can tell it is built to last.

The gallery below includes a picture of this boot a customer was trying on. We talked for a moment about how she was unsure of whether she’d be able to walk in them and as it turned out she had some trouble but they were different. I found a couple of costumey items you could put to use when Halloween roles around also. On that note, if you’re ever around that way be sure to stop in and I have no doubt that you’ll find something to take home. ::singing: “I wonder if I take you home…”

Til next time…

 

2 thoughts on “Shop Stop: Buffalo Exchange

    • Lol thanks! I really love them and even tried to google search a pair for you when I read your comment but I had no luck with that. I’m glad that you found something you like 🙂

Leave a Reply

